The official website of the City of London300 Dufferin Avenue519-661-CITY (2489)

Mayor's New Year's Honour List

Mayor Matt Brown is pleased to announce the annual Mayor’s New Year’s Honour List, celebrating members of the London community in nine categories of achievement to recognize the diversity of philanthropic work taking place in our city.

The 2018 honourees are:

  • Karen Schuessler - Arts
  • Dharshi Lacey - Diversity & Race Relations
  • George Sinclair - Environment
  • Susan Bentley - Heritage
  • Sister Delores Brisson - Housing
  • Lina Bowden - Humanitarianism
  • Todd Sargeant & Sigmund Bernat - Persons with Disabilities
  • Émilie Crakondji - Safety & Crime Prevention
  • Tom Partalas - Sports

“Today, we are pleased to celebrate these London leaders,” the Mayor said.  “On behalf of all members of Council, congratulations on this recognition and thank you for the work you do to make our city stronger and better every day.”

The Mayor of London’s annual Honour List began in 1976 with recognition of contributions to the Arts.   Since 1989, the additional categories of Diversity & Race Relations; The Environment; Heritage; Housing; Humanitarianism;  Persons with Disabilities; Safety & Crime Prevention and Sports have been added.  The recipients are named by City Council, on the recommendation of Advisory Committees or community organizations, through the City’s Standing Committees.

More information about this year’s honourees.