The official website of the City of London300 Dufferin Avenue519-661-CITY (2489)

Mayor’s New Year’s Honour List

Mayor Ed Holder is pleased to announce the annual Mayor’s New Year’s Honour List, celebrating members of the London community in 8 out of 10 categories of achievement to recognize the diversity of philanthropic work taking place in our city.

The 2019 honourees are:

  • Rachel Braden and Merel (Facility Dog) - Accessibility
  • Ernest Maiorana -  Age Friendly
  • Victoria Carter -  Arts
  • Gabor Sass - Environment
  • Steven Liggett - Heritage
  • Melissa Hardy-Trevenna - Housing
  • Jacqueline Thompson - Humanitarianism
  • Mike Lumley - Sports

“It is my great pleasure to honour these committed and caring Londoners,” said Mayor Ed Holder. “The work they do in our community is critical. Their efforts help build our city, making it an even better place, every day.” 

The Mayor of London’s annual Honour List began in 1976 with recognition of contributions to the Arts.  Since 1989, the additional categories of Diversity & Race Relations; The Environment; Heritage; Housing; Humanitarianism; Persons with Disabilities; Safety & Crime Prevention and Sports have been added.  Earlier this year, City Council amended the name of the Persons with Disabilities category to Accessibility, and added the category of Age Friendly.  Recipients are named by City Council, on the recommendation of Advisory Committees or community organizations, through the City’s Standing Committees.

More information about this year's honourees.