The official website of the City of London300 Dufferin Avenue519-661-CITY (2489)

2016 Tim Hickman Memorial Health & Safety Scholarship Awarded

This evening City Council recognized Colleen Biggs as the 2016 recipient of the Tim Hickman Memorial Health and Safety Scholarship. This annual $3,000 scholarship for students in an occupational and/or public health and safety related program was established in 2006 by the City of London and CUPE Locals 101 and 107 as a tribute to employee Tim Hickman who died in service to the community at age 21.

Currently pursuing her diploma in Occupational Health & Safety Management through Western’s Continuing Education program, Colleen already has hands on experience with ensuring safety in the workplace in her role as a Lab Manager at Lawson Health Research Institute and as a worker representative for the Joint Health and Safety Committee at St. Joseph’s Hospital.

In her previous roles Colleen recognized the importance of creating a safe workplace for herself and coworkers which led her to pursue an education in occupational health and safety. Her dedication to maintaining a healthy work environment as well as her commitment to providing safe work practices and safety programs to students and staff throughout Lawson Health Research Institute proves she is a very deserving recipient of the 2016 Tim Hickman Memorial Health and Safety Scholarship.

“Ensuring workplace safety is so important,” said Mayor Matt Brown. “I would like to thank Colleen for her passion and ongoing commitment to raising awareness and educating her colleagues about health and safety best practices.”

Colleen was chosen as the recipient of the scholarship by the selection committee including a representative of the Hickman family, staff of the City's Human Resource Division and Engineering Division and a representative of CUPE Local 101 and CUPE Local 107 as well as the London Chapter of the Canadian Society of Safety Engineering. Details of the selection criteria and the submission process are published on the City's website along with profiles of previous award winners.