For the most up-to-date information about COVID-19 impacts on City programs and services, visit our COVID-19 page.
The official website of the City of London300 Dufferin Avenue519-661-CITY (2489)3-1-1 (within London)
logo of 2019 Urban Design Awards

Urban Design Awards

The Call for Entries for the 2019 Urban Design Awards is now closed. Thank you to all that provided a submission!

The City of London recognizes and encourages the implementation of sound urban planning principles. The City's Official Plan, a comprehensive policy document, outlines a multitude of policies intended to promote urban design excellence.

The Urban Design Awards program is intended to recognize and celebrate original design concepts and visionary thinking in the following categories: Buildings; Buildings (Small-Scale Residential); Public Realm Enhancements; Public Spaces and Landscapes; Large Places and Neighbourhoods; Adaptive Reuse or Rehabilitation; People’s Choice; and People’s Choice Student Project.    

The Urban Design Awards program seeks to raise the bar on urban design in London by awarding projects that represent excellence, innovation and visionary thinking. Such awards are intended to inspire developers, architects, landscape architects, planners and designers to advance excellence in their own projects in pursuit of community recognition and appreciation. Council's goal is to emphasize the importance of outstanding urban design in establishing a city environment that is creative, engaging, and attractive. This is an important piece of the Creative City concept which aims to attract people to London through high quality city building.

Following the 2019 awards ceremony the winning entries will qualify for entry to the National Urban Design Awards program, administered by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC).


2019 Urban Design Awards

2017 Urban Design Awards 

2015 Urban Design Awards

2013 Urban Design Awards

2010 Urban Design Awards

Last modified: